Thursday, December 22, 2011

That's a lot of balls

SO this past weekend. I went on a thing that I don't know if I could really refer to it as anything except for an adventure. I will begin with 12am on Sunday. Because I might make a blog post about sad things that happened. But that is generally when sad bad things stopped happening to me.

So i was on my way to Boston for the 7th Annual Cambridge Yule Ball. After a bad 23 and a half hours of travel. So I managed to sleep on the bus a bit. BUt I was mostly nervous about getting a Taxi to Avy when I got in. Avy's my awesome friend who had an extra bed for me. Which was totally great. So I got in

I ddon't know why I worried because the taxi was really easy. He just took me there and I spoke to AVy and hugged her and it was great meeting Avy. Because she was like on my top 5 list of people I needed to meet and hug for the first time. But yeah. I just went to sleep after the greeting.

And so I woke up and I was surprisingly not confused. But anyhow I showered but we still needed to get fresh clothes for me. Let's just say I was lacking in any spare clothes through no fault of my own.

So we walked and stopped at this place called Newbury Comics which is I guess famous for comics. And I looked around. Socks and a shirt were my priority. So I looked at the socks and they were all $10 a pair. SO I found a really nice green pair. I love green a lot. Then I got a nice Arrested Development shirt about a banana stand.

And I changed and etc. Then Avy guided me through the mystery that is the Boston underground. The T. And some of it was awkward standing and afraid of falling. And I almost did fall.

Then we went aboveground and we were sitting. And a lady told me about how my hair is beautiful and people would literally pay for my hair. And then a baby got on and looked at me for an extended period of time and the lady said that the baby was now my fan. Man this was way more fun than I can convey in words.

So it was really cold and we were walking past a Panera Bread. So we decided to stop there and get something. And since we were stopped anyway. And Samantha was gonna pass us anyway. We called her and asked her if she would pick us up from Panera Bread and drive us the rest of the way to the Earls. And she did because she is great. So anyhow Samantha picked us up and I hugged her. By the way, another hug done on my hug bucket list.

And we drove for a bit. And we ended up at the Earls and it was nice. So we greeted Lori and the Earls. They are supernice. Did you know? She made us sandwiches. And they were delicious. Like seriously usually I hate cheese on sandwichs but I decided to risk it and ask for I think it was provolone on my turkey sandwich and it was delicious. The best sandwich.

So we sat down and i ate it and me sam and avy did cute things and talked about cute things. Then Lori let us have some of the spare chocolate from an advent calendar. Also sometime my mom called and asked me to sing happy birthday to my sister because they were having cake for her. SO i asked everyone in the hosue to sing it with me and we did and it was nice.

Lori went to get a thing. And in that time we played a game and fell on the floor and I broke my whistle. But we were in Boston so whatever. Then we drove to avy's door, for people with changes of clothes to change. Me, Avy, and Samantha I mean.

So we went there and then we took a bus to the middle east for the show and we ate dinner first. I ordered yogurt and my perception of yogurt has forever changed. I always thought that yogurt was like the fruity thing you buy in cups. But this stuff was bitter s I put oranges in it. And it was slightly better and also lots of sugar.

Also sometime there Arka and Kim met up with us. They are okay I guess. And we were all Ravenclaws except for Avy. But we ate and talked about dumb things. As we do. And we ended up being late to the show. And I missed half of Matt's set but the 2nd half was great. We walked in during house of awesome. And we found a nice spot in one back corner, but somehow we made it t the complete opposite corner in the front suring the show.

Matt was great with a backing band as usual. He played Draco and Harry. and the 3 of us started flappong out wings one minute into the intro. I later joked that our freedom wind carried all the way to North Korea and did Kim Jong Il in.

Then I think Jason Anderson was next. His songs were really lovely. But I definitely prefer him live with a crowd of only like 12 people. And with him staring into eyes while we do a sing along and with everyone there in arm's reach.

Then after him Andrew Slack did an inspirational speech. I don't know if you, the reader of this blgo post, have ever heard Andrew Slack give an inspirational speech.

Wait backtrack. When we walked into the basement of the middle east late. Andrew Slack was right behind us. And I hugged him. For some reason he had a ring of onion on his wrist???? But he is great so we just went with it.

But so he gave his speech. He had lost his onion ring. But needless to say, his speech was great and wonderful. He pointed out how Draco and the Malfoys were done but harry Potter keeps on going.

And then I think Paul introduced Draco and the Malfoys for their last set ever. And he was like they have played at all 7 Yule Balls and I joked loudly, "That's a lot of Balls." And so they played their typical music. pansy and my dad is rrich. and mostly their talking in between was really cute. Like people would say "We love you" and they would say "We love us too"but eventually Brad said i love you guys. And once again it was mentioned that it was their seventh Yule Ball and so Brian said a funny joke, "That's a lot of balls." And I was like, "Man this guy is hilarious!"

Did I mention that during all of the set breaks they played various versions of Last Christmas as the music. I forget what it's called. So during a break me avy and sam started requesting last christmas. they never did play that. they finished with 99 death eaters and then seemed to be done, but we called them back and they played the end of that again.

So then Harry and the Potters were starting. And that was most definitely the best Harry and the Potters livehow I had ever seen. But to be fair I think after every HATP show, I think it was the best live show I had ever seen. They played all of my favorites and then they covered a christmas song. So we started requesting last christmas from them. But then they just played a song from the 2nd of those christmas compilations that i own one of but can't remember the name of.

Anyhow after that we requested last christmas loudly again. So Joe started telling a story with the words "Last Christmas" and it was probably honestly more than 10 minutes? if not 15? He went from last christmas to talking about being alone in his hogwarts dorm room. but then hedwig showed up with a mysterious vial. and he wasn't sure whetehr to drink. but he did drink it and it made everything all christmas magical and we thought he was gonna segue into Felix Felicis right after that.

But he kept going. Everntually he said Accio Hagrid or was it Hedwig and Hedwig talked to him or something and it was the best response to a last christmas response that possibly could have happened. He just kept going. But eventually they segued into the part of baba o'riley where they sing "Teenage Wasteland" but instead it was "Merry Christmas" buh buh "Merry Christmasss"

Then they played more songs. They had a backing like brass band come on. The "What Cheer?" band which I think Jason Anderson might be in. And so they played a song about harry potter. Then they played save ginny weasley from dean thomas. with all the brass. and that is already one of my favorite songs, but this was even more magical.

So the brass band eventually went off and they started playing the weapon. So I turned around and grabbed arka and grabbed Avy and Sam and Kim into a group hug and we kinda stayed in that and danced for the entirety of the song. It was beautiful and I loved it SO MUCH!

THen they played some harder songs to finish their set. I turned around and i think paul had gone into the crowd during that song. but i was deep in a hug and did not notice. So they played harry potter. And then I honestly forget what absolutely everyone came bac on the stage for. But then wecheered for one last song.

And so Draco and the Malfoys ended up playing the 3rd song on the Family Ep which was really sad. Then they finished that and i think they rocked out 99 death eaters a bit the they played the merry christmas baba o'riley thing again ad we cheered and cheered until they walked off.

So I went to run to get my wallet to but their flash drive. And on the way there Brian was just walking away alone so i tapped him on the shoulder and he turned around and i hugged him. And it was at leats the 2nd best hug i had that night.

Then I got my wallet and bought Matt's Wizard Party Forever shirt. And I hugged Matt and Lauren because they are my favorite married couple to hug both of. Then I walked away and bought the flash drive.

And I saw this kid named Patrick I think. And he was wearing a pizza john with a suit jacket on top with pajama pants. And if you read my other blog, you know that is similar to my outfit from the week befoe at the pittsburgh yule ball. So someone mentioned taht we gonna try to get Andrew to go back with us and sing last christmas on youtube. even though he was quite drunk. Yeah so we had no diea where he was so we kinda just left. And Arka had a final at 9am so he also had to leave and not go with us.

But me made it back to Avy's. And we bought stuff at a grocery store around the corner. me and sam got ice cream, but avy was waiting to buy popcorn chicken at the place next to her hostel. Well so we went there and me and sam decided to split a popcorn chicken. Then we waited there a bunch for our chicken and we walked up to the room and we were talking and enjoying each other's presence. And so we added Sam to our skype chat and it seemed like everyone was okay with that and then it became midnight. End of blog!!

Saturday, December 10, 2011

December 9th, 2011

My day. So I woke up at 11:47 am with my alarm. Promptly silenced that evil contraption. I was then woken up at 12:34 pm by my dad. And shouted OH SHIT WHAT TIME IS IT? which is a thing I do to give off the idea that I am accidentally waking up 26 minutes before my class 28 minutes away. And I like to shower so that adds another half hour for me.

So I went back to sleep without bothering to check whether the call with the people who are cool was still going. So I went to sleep and woke again at 4:34 pm

And I thought that was just awful because I needed to be in Pittsburgh by 7 pm and my sources told me my destination was an hour and 15 minutes away which only left me with like an hour to get ready. I totally owned that hour thank you very much. Checked the twitter. Checked the tumblr. Checked the facebook. Showered. Saw that Maddie was still in the call. Wondered how long it could go if I just left the call going when I left. Ate a slice of pizza. Found a suit jacket. Got dressed a few steps back. Worried that I forgot something. Watch a cute baby walk across my kitchen said bye to the baby.

Then I left. I stopped at the gas station and got $40 from the bank. I bought a mountain dew code red. Even though I think I might be falling out of love with any mountain dew to be simply honest. Then I drove drove and drove.

I thought I was lost a few times. But the route to Pittsburgh is still like 95% the same as it has been every other time I drove to Pittsburgh alone and so I every other time I also thought I might be lost.

I got there and noted that there was parking in front. But it was mostly full besides a spot to parallel park. So I parked behind the library. The library conveniently had a backdoor But very unconveniently the door had a sign that said "Please use the front door" so I had to walk all the way around the building to walk inside.

And a security guard I guess he was said hi and then a lady said the event is upstairs. So I walked upstairs feeling very nervous. Just realized I haven't said where I've been going. Woooo accidental suspense. So I open the door and Poof! There's Matt and Lauren. I say hi and walk in. And say dumb words to them because I am nervous.

Then girls of ages similar to mine walk in and I talk to them and say dumb words at them. AND THEY HAD LITTLE REESES CUPS ON THE BACK TABLE.

So then the show started and Lauren was really wrockin. But for some reason only me and the 11 year old Noah were standing anywhere near her. So I dragged people forward and they stayed forward but then they kept backing up. Then I put on my Luna glasses I got as a great gift and started dancing around with those.

I like to dance because it is music and why not?

So after i got people to move up. Matt applauded me which was nice. Then I danced some more I guess.

Then her set ended. She played specific songs that are my favorite songs. But I am skimming over a lot of details. Have you noticed. By you I mean the arbitrary person who has for some reason read like so many words of this crap so far. CRAP CRAP CRAP.

Anyhow. Lauren finsihed and then Matt started wrocking the house. Or more like th library. He also played songs I love but I am trying to not think whle I type and I'd have to think to remember which songs exactly he played. Except he started off with Fall In Love Tonight. Which I always feel so awkward but I did this time especially because I was the only guy at that show so far. Well I usually am for the entire time I guess.

So I danced anyhow because dancing! Or if you could even call what I was doing dancing. He played some other songs or maybe just one but then he introduced I Believe in Nargles and said he was dedicating it to "My Curly Haired Friend" Because I had previously worn the spectrespecs. And so I knew I had to make it completely worth it.

So he played it and I knew Laurenhad seen people do it enough that she knew the wrackspurt dance So I got her to join me in doing it. And then all of the girls who hadn't been dancing a lot before were suddenly dancing that.

And I guess that was like what got everyone excited. People were super into on behalf of neville. and then super into everything else he played.

So it was over and i had fun hanging out Had good chats with the maggiacomos. Had good times with other people. Convinced people to go with me to obtain food. They got into my car to go get food. I am awful at names but one of them was Runa who I know the name of from repeated encounters of thinking she is cool on the internet.

And went to a place called Lulu's soups. It was like all times of Asian foods I guess. Mostly soups as the name might suggest but allso other things you'd find standard at Chinese or Japanese restaurants. So we ate the food and then we left. And it was cold cold cold. And everyone walked back to my maybe illegally parked car with me. Because runa's phone was probably there and then i was convinced to drive them to the cathedral of learning.

because sure i will drive anyone to hogwarts. and then they left and I was driving home.

So 15 minutes into my hour long car-ride home I realized I REALLY had to pee. Which would have been great. But there were no exits for miles. I went a little bit farther than contemplating peeing in a bottle.

So I decided that the next exit i was taking and i was turning at the first place. And so I found an exit and the first place was a holiday inn. And so I am glad I didn't try to pee in a bottle because that would have filled a whole bottle and that would have been so disastrous that i might have to write a book about the experience.

there were men shouting and listening to country music in the hotel abr so i went to investigate. and i saw the pool and i love the smell of a good pool. MAN

So then I came home and discovered the call had ended. And I shared my experiences and uploaded pictures to facebook and then I watched john play in the fa cup which was terrifying in so many ways.

then i watched played my own games of that game. Then I got bored and did other boring things and now I am here typing this. Woohoo


Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Feelings

So Feelings. I have them. They exist. My feelings. They are mine. And I like to keep a lot of them that way. Only letting them out in small secrets from friend to friend. Tell one person I really like a girl. Tell another person I am sure I like girls, which i said like 11 months ago, but I am still not sure if my liking of genders ends at only that.

Obviously flirt with guys and girls I've never really thought about liking romantically. But barely able to even flirt a little with the people who I like and stuff. Which is probably a thing tons of people do. But it is a dumb thing to do and I don't wanna do it. But it's just so scary because before you get in there and before they know for sure that you like them at all there is always that huge chance of rejection at even the little flirting.

And like I just feel like not many people know much about me.

Like I don't think very many people know about my home life? How many siblings I have. Which of them still live in my house. Whether I have a good relationship with them.

And other trivial things like my favorite color or favorite number or favorite place to eat.

And there is other stuff that I will come bck to when I figure out how to get it into words and i feel like I have managed to not reveal a deep persoanl secret in this yet so I will just post it.

Thursday, August 25, 2011

ShuffleBlog

So, last night me and Destiny were talking to each other both awake at an insane time. A regular occurence during the summer I guess. But, we were iming and I ahd iTunes open. And I thought what if I comment on each song I listen to without even telling ehr what song song it is. Would that be cool? And she said she'd like it. So I started doing that in the ims and now I'm gonna blog like that. Fair warning I have not slept at night since a day and a half ago. I'm tired is the point and today is the 25ht and yeah.... You'd say I am the manliest, if you happen to know about that inside joke. I'd draw a beard on my face if there wasn't already one there made of like actual hair. Ok I'm gonna start now.

As is the nature of shuffle, I have to actually choose the song to start with so I guess I will actually say I am choosing On the radio because I'm pretty sure it's my favorite song that never fails to make me feel good about Esther's existence, which is weird because I can only think of one reason why. I don't actually need to tyope that. I don't know. Well, some other rules, I am definitely allowed to skip songs. This is supposed to be a mind calming exercise thing. So, skipping songs that totally go against that aura I'm going for totally don't need to be played. I think I'll only go with a new paragraph when a new song starts too. On the radio, oh oh. On the radio, oh oh. On the radioooooooo. Bum duh buh dum duh dum.

Haha this band, I don't really quite know why I like this band so much. They are a little bit outside of my normal favorites. But I guess I like them. I don't understand the name because it's either a joke or I don't understand history or I have no idea. I will always appreciate bad days like this, because they grant me a point of happiness in regards to my happiness. Jesus christ i do like that band.

Ooh this is a song from one of my favorite albums and it would be weird to call it one of my favorite songs because it really doesn't have that favorite song like feel to it. It's sorta sad and I'm not sure how it fits with the autobiographical aspect to the rest of the album. But I guess it is sometimes as nice to not know a song origin as it is to know the origin because you can like make it about what you want it to be about. But this one is clearly about a guy who died. Well duh. It is so slow and I don't know if it fits this blog a song thing really well or really poorly. Because I am like losing things to write about it. But I don't wanna stop for very long time. A terrible song to be listening to today. At least due to one lyric. Ohh geez. I wish I was more knowledgable about things and didn't have to not know them. Jeez how many times does he repeat that bridge. It's over

Hahaha. I have a mix that Blaze sent me and it is of this band. She didn't actually make it. But I was quite addicted to it for a time. Anyhow it has this song on it. Well, I have the song independently of having that mix. But I always thought it was one of my favorite songs by them and that they did a good good job writing it. And then I found out they covered it. It always makes me think of this tv show i watched that got cancelled after a season that was called new amsterdam. I guess I gave away what this song was. But anyhow, the show was about a guy who was like cursed by gypsies and destined to live forver until he met his one true love which was a really terrible premise at least in the priometime television setting. But I loved it and it was cancelled.

Another song from the same album as the last song. I think a lot of people say it is one of the best tmbg songs ever. I don't know, I suppose I love it a lot. And it is awfully catchy. But neither one of these were the versions on that mix. Is this the album with the album versions or what because i definitely like the mix versions better. These are the type of questions I wish I had the answers to. I always say vicariously instead of the actual lyric in the one part. and I have no idea what the one lyric is even supposed to be. It's a good song I suppose. It would own to see it live. Oh no, it's over. bang on those drums!!

Oh god, this song is so good. With the like violins. They're violins I think. It's like the polar opposite to the slow song by them that was playing earlier. Ahhh I love when he shouts lyrics rather than singing them. It's my favorite thing besides when he says ahahahahahahahha. I saw this band live and it completely owned. I was a little depressed following it which really confused me. But I remember the concert owning.

I've seen her play this song a few times live. It's a really good song but it's weird when she plays it live because not everyone really gets the references. But I like the live acoustic version way better than this album version oh i think it is just these new headphones. They give a bass boost so the bass drum is a lot more noticable and the other lower drums. But anyone who hasn't seen firefly really should. Because it's a really excellent show and it is only like less than 15 hours to watch all the episodes and the movies. Like I could have watched all of that since I woke up.

Harry and the potters own. Haha I'm giving up the being mysterious about songs and artists. I really love the way they sing her my oh nee and they always strtech it out to 4 whole syllables like that. And I feel like the Hermione/Krum relationship really was not shown very much at all in the books. Like does that say something about harry and his not caring about the life of her my oh nee?

I'm a lonely boy! I live beneath the staircase. My cousin is real fat. he makes my life a sad state. The dursleys are my guardians. They are so mean and evil. If only I had some magic powers, surely i could make them tremble. .... I AM HARRY POTTER I AM HARRY POTTER!!! Today, I got a lette rin the mail. My uncle took it right away from me. But more and more kept coming here. The letters jammed the living room. So they took me to a hotel and on my 11th birthday, I finally saw the writing on the card. And it said I AM A WIZARD I AM HARRY POTTER I AM HARRY POTTER

I've skipped straight to the HATP song 3 straight times now. Whoops. It was an invisibility cloak. HOW RAD!!! I love those parts. I love their songs!!!

I don't really know this looking for trouble song THAT well. But I am really trying to get into The Remus Lupins. A bit late I suppose. But it's never too late. Not really. I love the buh buh buhs in this song. Because it was one thing I could sing along during Alex's set without actually knowing the lyrics to any of the songs. But I am learning them. We'll go an look out for trouble. We're gonna finish this once and for all. At least I saw them live the once even if I'll never see them again. Leakycon was amzing. Did you know?? Did you? I don't actually own any TRL songs. The 5 I had were all on different mixes I have. Buh buh buh buh buh buh ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Ooh it's i am a wizard again but it's blaze again. I think she had put songs on the one website. I can't think of its name at all right now. But this was from like a year and a half ago. I think before she started putting covers on her youtube even. And it's weird how she can like take songs and clearly her voice is nothing like paul or joe degeorge's but it seems to work anyhow. ~musical talent~

Oh. This song! I had never heard of the mudblood or even much wizard rock even and maddie posted a playlist on tumblr. Just a playlist and it had this song and i was liek WOAH. I like this song. But maybe they only had like the one good songs. But just recently i got the whole war amidst pop songs album. And it's not just be my witch that is great. It's at leats all of the songs on that album. I looked up the song on that songmeaning website once. And a person said they love this song because it sounds like a song anyone would listen to and swoon to, but it's a wizard rock song. Like you feel like a teenage wizard angsting about love listening to music on your whatever wizard listen to music on. You transfigurated my heeeaaaart. And now it only beats for you.

This song may very well be my favorite mountqin goats song. But I have a live version and I love it. And I'm pretty sure he sings the lyrics differently. So when I quote it on facebook or something they aren't the official lyrics. This is the album version so I'd RATHER have the live version, but i still like it. The most remarkable thing about you standing in the doorway is that it's you and you're standing in the doorway.

Oh hey look i lvoe this song after skipping like 12 songs. I always thought this was the best Lauren Fairweather wrock song and then she released the prince's tale. GET OUT OF MY BATHROOM YOU'RE REALLY CREEPY. YOU'RE NOT A GIRL AND YOU DO0N'T BELONG HERE. SAW A PAIR OF YELLOW EYES AND THEN I DIED. I like how it's a mix of a little bit of moaning myrtle head!canon and then a lot of moaning myrtle canon. Haha I watched love and monsters the other day and monaing myrtle is in that except not lauren or nina, wouldn't have owned if lauren was in an episode of doctor who?

Ok this shuffle thing is really starting to stress me out. So I am gonna end this blog. Maybe I'll do it a gain sometime?

Friday, August 12, 2011

Sunday part 1

Then there was Sunday. The leaving brunch. Oh god. We woke up fairly late because really we figured they'd be serving breakfast all day. The Royal Pacific hotel had interesting choices regarding the shape of the tables the buffets were on. So there were 2 long rectangle tables in the middle with half circle tables on each end. Well, they looked very phallic I guess.

But right the breakfast. I don't know if I've said this but I didn't have much of an appetite all of that week. So I wasn't sure about this breakfast thing. I got scrambled eggs. I can never pass up scrambled eggs. I love scrambled eggs. Some bacon. Some cantaloupe and strawberries, which both also fall into the things I can't pass up category. I placed my bacon beside my cantaloupe and the bacon grease sorta dripped into the cantaloupe. And good thing the bacon grease tasted like magic, or that would have really bugged me.

So, I sit down and see some people getting their yearbooks signed. I realized that wow, this is my last chance to get everyone not staying in my hotel's signature thingy in my yearbook. Scott walked over at some point, and Tippy and I got theirs and signed their. And Graham and Abe. I spotted Alex Carpenter in line for food and then ended up feeling really bad about bugging him in line when I saw him later. I kinda did a few trips through, just to see whether I might spot someone I know and forgot about. I saw Jodi when I passed one table and got her to sign it.

I guess I was sorta looking for my favorite wrockers. Matt, Lauren, Justin, Kristina, Paul, Joe, and Alex. Well, as I said I found Alex. Paul and Joe had a show that afternoon so apparently they were in a big hurry to get out. And I really had no idea where Matt and Lauren had got to. I found the Earls and got them all to sign mine. Ooh. I got Brian Holden's signature too. B)

They had a little thing on stage to close things off. Melissa said a few words, quoted JK Rowling a bit. It was all very nice. Then Starkid sang Days of Summer, which was awfully great. In the way that it makes me wanna cry every time I hear it now that I connect it to that. They eventually kicked us all out of the big room. So I kinda wandered. Hung out around Andrew a lot. There's a lot of video of that on catitude's youtube?

But I still wanted to find Matt and Lauren a lot. They are really great people. Maddie did too to buy some shirts from Matt. So, we finally got to Matt and Lauren. And I got there signatures and that was quite nice. Then I mostly just sat around and enjoyed the company of my friends until enough people decided to go swimming. I had elft my swimsuit at home.

Oh dear, I called it home. I mean I left it at the motel so a couple carfuls of us were gonna go back to either stay at the motel or go back to the Hotel to go swimming. I had been planning on going back to swim. But then I guess I changed my mind. Everybody ended up going back to the hotel except Ryan, Me, Maddie, and Destiny. SO we got pizza and breadsticks. And those breadsticks were the best breadsticks I'd ever had. We kinda talked a bit before we kinda all fell asleep. And I think we all managed to sleep the entire day away when everybody else came back to the motel.

The Esther Earl Rocking Charity Ball

So the was the Esther Earl Rocking Charity Ball. Destiny will later tell me I had let myself get carried away in anger maybe a few times. But anyways, I was feeling really self-conscious because my belt was really ugly and I hate it and I thought it made everything look dumb. I mean thank god i had a party hat with dinosaurs on it to at least help me look less dumb.

So the bunch of us were kinda dancing badly in a circle. Which I assume is what nerds do, they dance badly in a circle. The venn diagram of nerds and people dancing badly at a dance is nerds dancing badly in a circle. Of course, much like the happy dances, our dance moves we're either implementing mostly the top half or mostly the bottom half of our bodies. Not very many combos involved there.

And me especially, I'm not one for coordination. So we were just dancing and having a good time, somewhat near the stage and then little kids ran out and all of a sudden I was sandwiched against the stage and I got really stressed and started yelling. But it got better. We'll just forget the yelling part didn't happen. Various starkid people went out on stage and some came to our corner and for a little we were cheering them all on to dance. Hank Green was probably the most impressive dancer of the night.

At one point, we managed to force our way on stage and lots of people followed us. We were having our own dance party, but wait. THEN, the freakin' pokemon theme started playing, and that was intense. Surrounded by people on stage all yelling the lyrics to something from my childhood. We will probably get back to how emotional Leakycon was in connection to my childhood. But just saying.

I had fun embarrassing myself up there until enough people were on stage so I didn't feel quite so bad about being bad at dancing in front of a massive crowd of people, because I could hide behind everyone else up there. Then a guard came out on stage and told us all to get off the stage. We kinda didn't listen to him. Then a little bit later, we were told melissa wants us off the stage. Well, then we listened.

A bit later we could all sense the thing was winding down. Melissa was handed a mic, but then what. We sang Total Eclipse of the Heart and I made a hilarious joke where somebody else would hold up a heart sign with their hand and I would cover it or I guess I would eclipse it. Get it? har har har. Anyhow we touched and hugged and nothing else and generally appreciated each other while we all accidentally sung the lyrics to the dance mix of the song. There was a grouphug or 2. Then I think next was everybody singing the leaky song. I'm not good with chronology.

At some point near the end there was a chant of Esther over and over again. I thought that was especially awesome. That all of those hundreds of people were chanting the name of my internet friend. The world is a funny, great place. Then I tried to get the crowd to sing then end of Matt's newest album. Melissa kept interrupting to speech make. But when she was done I managed to lead the crowd in a very repetitive chorus of "We're wizards, we'll party forever. This night will never end." Yeah, I led them. :') It was beautiful and I'm not sure how long it went on for but eventually the night did end. But it's still going on in my heart.

I am so bad at translating emotions into words and this night was mostly emotional, so I guess I will end this blog post until I can figure out how to translate properly. I love you, dear reader.



Monday, August 8, 2011

Leakycon 2011: Saturday

I went to sleep and then I woke up and it was Saturday. Oh Saturday... So this was the last full day of Leakycon. And I was feeling lots of emotional so I thought maybe I should blog about Leakycon to feel better. And now I am remembering that the next thing I have to blog about is the last whole day of Leakycon.

So a few of us left early. Some people wanted to see The Warlock's Hairy Heart or something, but me and Julian signed up to volunteer for the HPA for the hour before the Starkid event. So we got there and we honestly had no idea where to go. We were told that people usually check in at the HPA merch table, but the merch room was locked and closed. Oh no, what were we to do. SO we waited and then somebody else walked in, so we sneaked in after and helped set up and then we went to watch the starkid thingy.

So the rest of our friends saved us a seat because they are literally the best people. And I guess I don't honestly remember this very well. If you want an accurate account, it is all on youtube probably. But they sang my favorite songs and I sang along. And Darren said my favorite song was his favorite. I mean Hey Dragon. It was really cute. Then after they sang all of the songs, there was a Q and A with Firenze. He had questions he wrote from his fellow forbidden forest dwellers. It was funny.

Then we ran to the esther thing run by Lori and Wayne Earl. They talked about Esther and then Wayne read from his biography he is writing about her. I thought it was nice. But I cried and also lots of Catitude had cameos because we're cool.

Then we went into a hallway and hung out for a while. I bought merch. A starkid headband and sunglasses that I lost and they will haunt my dreams forever. And then me maddie and ryan sat on a bench and drank coke and ate kit kats and we darren criss showed up a few times to say hi. Oh and we got snitchwiches.

Then was a secret event. Shhh. Don't tell anyone. It was a private thingy for friends of esther, so all of catitude was there. and the earl family and hank and alex c and lauren and matt and andrew and i am probably leaving people out? but i love all of those people and the people i am leaving out, I just have bad memory. OH and did i say there was PIZZA

So we went around in a circle and explained what Esther meant to us. The whole time my thoughts were going between "That's exactly how I feel!!" and "No way can I articulate this as clearly as anyone else." so then people went around and it was a private thing so i won't repeat anyone's, also i am especially bad at remembering exact wordings so that would be really disastrous. So it got to me and everybody was panicking or at least a few people because the ball was gonna start fairly soon and we all had to get dressed still and pretty ourselves up. So I was rushed but then I just broke down. And said something like "The past year I've been thinking a lot about how I never took the time to get to know Esther and I thought I never would. But now we are all together and I've met Esther and I gestured to the crowd or something and said you are all Esther and I started crying. So then Maddie and blaze walked over to hug me or something. And later people said it was great what I said. I don't remember. But I'm crying now. And so then the rest of the people went and then it was pouring. haha my emotions were the weather and we ran to the car to get our stuff and i walked slowly back because i like rain and it was a plastic bag and why else would plastic be consumed so liberally but to protect your clothes as it's raining.

I changed except I don't know how to tie a tie. so i just walked out and i kinda stood there and i guess waited for somebody who did. and Blaze thought she knew, but she did not and then she walked away. And then Maddie actually knew and she tied my tie. thank you maddie!! Then I went to walk in but i got stopped by destiny and tippy and marcus. and tippy finally gave me a party hat <:D and so then i walked in. New blog to come some other time.

whoops i just remember i skipped the fred lives performance. Somebody played before him but i kinda literally fell asleep but then maddie had to wake me up for fred lives and i liked his songs and like i said about the wrock shows i was disappointed i couldn't sing along because i didn't know them. but i liked them. and then we ran out as soon as he was done. ok done with this blog post for real now



Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Leakycon 2011: Wrock Night 2!!!!

Wizard Rock. Wizard Rock!! So today is Esther Day and lots of people are blogging about that. But I am currently in the middle of a like 30 part Blog. Or at least it will be that long if I keep going at this pace. And probably when I have typed all 30 posts up to me leaving on an airplane to fly back to here, my "Home", I will realize that there are a lot of emotional and personal thigns involving my friends that I left out and none of the people there who i considered my friends probably would have been my friends if it weren't for Esther bringing people together and stuff. So I love you all, whether you were at leakycon with us or not, I definitely felt connected to lots of people who weren't there while I was there if that makes sense. So yeah love you!!! Also I made a blog about Esther some months ago that is on this blog if you scroll down or whatever. And I read it today and I still feel a lot of the things I felt when I wrote it so it's still relevant I guess. Now I'm gonna blog about wizard rock.

So then was the second wizard rock night. I was way more eager to get a good spot in front of the stage after the previous night's show turned out to be pretty amazing. Also I actually had previously heard of all of the performers for this night and even heard about how awesome they are, so I was very very excited. The Parselmouths started off if I remember correctly.

Kristina and Eia played at the first wrock show I had ever been to, so they have a little spot in my heart because of that. They cam out with party hats and their set was really really fun. They threw party hats into the crowd and my friend Ryan caught one and wore it for the whole show and I felt bad for people behind him because he is sorta tall and a party hjat makes him even taller to people behind him trying to see the show. So I didn't know their music very well. I remembered the song where they sing to Harry Potter. At my first show, they had Justin of the Sugar Quills fame sing the part of Harry. At this show it was Alex and it was very cute and great.

I am not entirely sure of the order of this show so I will go by mostly what the yearbook says even though I know that is wrong. So the book says Gred and Forge played next. And he was really good and I didn't know the words but it was nice to dance to. But then he ripped off his jacket and he was wearing a pizzajohn underneath and it became a beautiful set.

Then the book says Hank Green played next. I never realized Hank had so many songs about Harry Potter. But I even knew the words to all of them? so I liked it. He threw out shirts into the crowd. And me and katie and like 4 strangers had a hold of the one. But somehow i realized if i let go of it katie would end up with it and if i didn't let go someone else would end up with it. So I let go and Katie has it now.

then the book says tonks and the aurors played next and i don't honestly remember it, but she owned is what i do remember.

then I know matt played just before harry and the potters, so then Draco and the Malfoys played. And I had heard enough of their songs that I could sing along some. And then they had a song to pansy parkinson and some girl came on stage for him to sing it to. I was very confused. But then like 2 days later i found out she was the girl who played pansy parkinson in the harry potter movies? who knew?

then was the whomping willows. And Matt has a really really special place in my ehart. Because he played at my first wizard rock show. And the first wizard rock song i heard was the flying car one. And also I've seen him like 8 times and hugged him a few times. So MAtt played his usual songs. And at the Esther roundtable there was a thing on the serious ball, "What is your favorite Harry Potter / Fandom moment" and it was read as slash fandom moment. So then when Matt played Draco and Harry that was my favorite HP Slash fandom moment. AND when Matt played I believe in nargles Evanna Lynch came on stage and it was beautiful. And then Matt played his song "When The Lights Go Out" from his newest album. And he said for the crowd to continue singing "We're Wizards, We'll Party Forever, This Night Will Never End" until HATP came on stage. And so we did and it was one of my most favorite moments.

Then HArry and the Potters played and their concerts are always completely freakin' amazing. I don't even know how to describe how awesome it was. They played The Weapon and most of the crowd did a swayey thing and i cried. And Evanna Lynch played bass on Smells like Harry Potter and it was really cool. So I was incredibly emotional. And when the show was over I was just completely like a ball of emotion. And I ran to find someone to hug. And first I found Andrew Slack and hugged him and then I found other friends and hugged some of them. Then I went over to where a bunch of HPA people were and I saw Jodi from the HPA and I just hugged her even though I had never really spoken to her. Then I made my way across and hugged Matt and Lauren. It was a wonderful night for hugging. And I will talk about this night more later maybe if I have to. But this blog post is over!!





Saturday, July 30, 2011

Leakycon 2011: Day whatever

Then there was Friday. I think Friday started out later than the other days. I don't really remember waking up earlier than usual. Maybe I just woke up early because I was determined to not walk that day. I honestly forget.

But then we got there a little late so definitely I did not go early and there was the HPA Climate Crisis thing presented by Katie. Katie is really cool and my friend and her work ethic and general Hufflepuffness inspires me a lot. Her convincing people to join the HPA staff convinced me to also join the staff. Katie's great. So she was the head of the last of the horcruxes the Climate Crisis horcrux and I don't even remember the beginning it's been such a massive campaign. But she summed up the horcrux and then had us brainstorm climate crisis ideas.

And I had been brainstorming for a while already and never thought of an idea and I guess the brainstorming helped a bit. I heard lots of cool things that people had done and I got more points for Ravenclaw. And then right after in the same room was ther start a chapter panel and I secretly am already in a chapter so I shouldn't have been there, but I got some good ideas for getting my chapter going. It was interesting and I learned stuff. Then we were just gonna sit there and wait for the next thing to start which was the charming witches one and we talked about it really excitedly. But then we realized wizrockumentary was starting.

And I liked what I saw of the Wizrockumentary a lot more than I liked the one that is popular on hulu and netflix or whatever. They talked about one band that nobody had heard of but i guess mtv had heard of it 4 years ago. But a lot of it was them pointing a camera at Draco and the Malfoys and Harry and the Potters and asking them questions and it was mostly funny because their personalities are funny and I was somewhat familiar with them. We talked to Brian Malfoy later and he said it was awkward because they did it at a con and they were all incredibly tired when they were interviewed.

Then I guess we ran to lunch and I still had no appetite but Maddie bought me a cheeseburger and fries and i gave her money after she did that. And I took a few bites of it but then we had to run run run to the Esther Roundtable. I wasn't sure what to expect with this. I knew Katie was technically running this too and we were gonna be playing silly and/or serious ball. So we walked in slightly late for that with Burger King. Lori, Esther's mom, had suggested Catitude split up. So since my food was in Maddie's Burger King bag, I ended up between her and Sierra's mom.

The serious ball parts for fun to just watch people say serious things. Except I got what would I say to JKR if I met her irl. And I kinda just said, "Hi" "Hello" "I like your books" Then other people answered and I feel bad because I can't remember their answers. Then once we finished with Serious Ball, we had people say their feelings. And I don't remember it clearly enough that I wanna attempt to transcribe it. But it was sad and made me cry a bit.

Then we went to the HPA DHC panel and all of the campaign leaders explained their campaigns. It was nice and I claimed my part ticket somewhere during those 2 hours and stuff. I liked it.

Then we went to the Nerdfighter Gathering but I really liked it and was being entertained, but then I was promised a free meal and an oppurtunity to meet starkid and evanna. and really how could I pass up a free meal. So I went in there and sat around and sorta just looked at the pretty people instead of meeting them. But they weren't like special. They were just pretty and I guess taleneted. And the food was just like healthy snacks. But it was still food. Then we went up and took a picture but not until we had opened our christmas crackers which is a thing i had wanted to do since i read about it in harry potter.

Then there was more wrock.

Friday, July 29, 2011

Leakycon 2011: Wrock Night 1

So then was the first Wizard Rock night. I guess you could say I was half excited about it. The only bands on the line-up I ever really listened to were JFF and the Moaning Myrtles. And I had heard really good things about The Remus Lupins. And what I had heard of Ministry of Magic I really didn't like that much. So most of it was gonna be new and surprising to me and I was at one point really hopeful.
So, we waited outside the door, I waited outside the side door with whoever and walked in there, I opened it and Matt looked at me and I ran away really dorkily. So then they opened the main door and I ran in and got a really good spot directly in front of the stage and then more of the people with us got a less great spot still pretty close to the stage. So they managed to convince us to go to the less great spot which was probably actually arguably better because the speakers kinda blow the music more past you the closer you are to the stage.

So the first to play. Or act. Or whatever the proper terminology is was MC Kreacher. And it sounded really bad. Most of it was probably because of the bad sound so close. But some of it had to be that it was just kind of weird. I didn't personally like it that much at least. But I was patient. I knew that if House of Black wasn't good, then JFF and LAuren would definitely redeem the show. So I kinda bobbed my head and tried to get into it and it kinda worked for a few seconds. Then House of Black played and I probably would have enjoyed it more if I knew the
lyrics better or something.

But then finally Lauren was playing. And she said later or earlier that she was really nervous because not only was she the only act with no backing anything, but Leakycon had also claimed it would be the Moaning Myrtles playing even though Nina was not there. Which I've noticed libraries seem to do a lot. But she walked out and started playing songs from her new album The
Prince's Tale and pretty much won over the entire crowd. That album is just really, really good. Then she went on to play some other music she's popular for and won the crowd over even more. We were all cheering and holding our hands as heart shapes to show her our support and it was really great to feel all of that love.

Then JFF played and I did not remember hearing him play with a backing band but he pretty much owned it. I've seen him play a lot. And I've heard him play his usual songs but he just kinda went out there and made them sound better than I had ever heard them. There was one song I didn't know and I felt really awkward about it but I still think it was really great and wonderful.

Then MoM played and I guess it was okay. I didn't hate it, but I mostly wish I had known what words to sing along with.

Then finally was I guess the headliner of the night. The Remus Lupins in their "last show ever" which is weird because Alex played a song from that band a few days later so I guess it means he is just not writing Remus Lupins songs any more? I don't know. But he played some songs and I liked them a lot. I still didn't know the words but I liked to sing along and some of them were really easy to sing along. He played his songs and then he walked off stage but the fans weren't having any of that. We cheered him back on for an encore and I'm pretty sure it was a legit encore. Then it was over.

We all just sorta sat in that room emotionally drained for a while. It was a kinda nice feeling to just be emotionally drained all together. There were a lot of really ncie feelings at Leakycon and they are hard to explain and they all have a lot to do with love and friendship and it's just really hard to explain.

There's a picture of me lying on the floor beside blaze and destiny that lindsay uploaded that shows how I felt comfortable enough that I probably could have slept on that probably really dirty floor for the whole night. Leakycon was a really nice thing.

Tomorrow or the next day or whenver I will talk about Leakycon Friday. OoOooooohhhh

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Leakycon 2011: July 14

Ok so then was the first official day of Leakycon. It was a Thirsday in the beginning of July. It was July 14. There were 10 days until winter break. So I woke up about 3 minutes before the last ride to the hotel had planned to leave. Ryan was also still asleep so I got ready and he got ready and we walked over together. They delayed programming again a bit, at least in the main stage room so I didn't miss anything? Or maybe I just caught the important parts. But the walk over was very warm and stuff and me and Ryan were mostly awkward and not talking much on the way there and then he went somewhere to get registration i guess and i went in and sat alone and watched Andrew Slack talk like an andrew Slack talks. Which menas really great.

Then I'm not sure where I went but I'm pretty sure i caught the end of the potter kids panel or something even though i think i was supposed to have paid for it. I'm not really sure to be honest. But the kids were kinda cute in a way and it was nice. If it was the thing people had to pay money for. Oh I feel bad for those people. But if not it was pleasant and not overwhelming and I didn't dislike it.

Then I don't know but I found Maddie or whatever and I think she had a coke or wanted a coke. Which I guess is obvious since it is Maddie. So I got a coke and while I was there I got a banana. And then there was the "Always Bring a Banana to an HPA meet-up joke. And then the HPA meet-up.

So there were a lot of people in the HPA and we met up basically. We sat in a circle and I brought up a table because I needed to set my banana and coke down somewhere. And we did one of those icebreakers that I honestly don't like at all where we go in a circle and answer a specific not very personal question or in this case like 5 which was of course weird. And then sicne there were so many people we did nothing else during the session but some people had interesting answers I guess.

Then was Potion Master's Corner followed by Potter Puppet Pals and since they are both based on short youtube videos I will group their details together. They were kinda ok. I mean they were like irl versions of the youtube videos they are. And they were as entertaining as the youtube videos. I guess I have never been a huge fan of PPP but i laughed at it it was funny. And I've laughed a lot at PMC and I laughed at the panel thingy.

Then a live leaky mug I guess I walked in late for with Maddie and she laughed at jokes I didn't get at all and we also made dumb jokes. Then that Christian Caldiera guy played a song and then the leakymug people talked more and then he played end of an era and destiny was there now and we had a moment while he played end of an era and it was nice. It was a nice emotional moment and we all had to pick our legs up so our legs didn't get wet from the flood of tears streaming through. Oh right, then i believe we were summoned to get our tickets, I have no diea at this point.

Anyhow we all walked to the movie and sat in our seats and we split it like 3 4 and 5 i think and i was on the end beside destiny. i got food and bought a drink and while i was waiting i watche evanna and all of the starkids and mr earl go into the imax screening. but i had popcorn and an icee so all was well and then i went into the theater. All was still well, and we sung songs and showed the final battle people up. HAHA

Then the movie started and I started crying when i first heard hedwig's theme disguised behind the one song. And I stopped crying sometime during the credits. but it was good i suppose. So we stood there during all of the credits and i wanted to take the boat back because of a thing melissa said during the leakymug. but i didn't so that was sad. Then we went to a wrock show and i will describe this when i wake up. OK OK OK


Monday, July 25, 2011

Leakycon 2011: Opening and OATC

So where I last left off I believe we were just walking in to the opening ceremony thingy like 20 minutes late maybe. Thankfully Leakycon almost seemed to always wait for me so it wasn't quite started. We saw the Earls on our way to the rest of Catitude and then waited for it to begin. I was between Destiny and Katie at first I believe. So a few people had mentioned that they didn't expect much of this and they might leave early and go to the park. I wasn't sure what to expect. Maybe just a really good video?

Before it had started Melissa announced that an attendee needed to come to the stage to recieve a prize or something. And I was thinking wow, they're giving away free random stuff already, how cool. Then a guy walked on stage and melissa was like I think you know who this is. And then the breath of 1000s of people was collectively held, because we knew this guy was about to get on one knee and propose. And that's what he did. And my eyes were watering because I have allergies, I wasn't crying or anything. No, not me. But then the actual ceremonies started.

So it started with like a history of the fandom and interviewing people about conferences or something. And then the video screwed up. I was so excited I applauded because the atmosphere was still like incredibly incredible, I couldn't help but even appreciate the mistakes. I think when the video crashed they tried to show the pulsating Leakycon thing that is hard to explain but was on the screen a lot during the next few days. But it just ended up looking like blue pulsating with a noise like it was trying to pop or something. Needless to say, I loved it.

Then after a few mistakes, Lena, the creator and composer of The Final Battle and the Hairy Heart thing came out and played a few familiar Harry Potter tunes on the keyboard. I wasn't sure whether it was planned or she was trying to salvage the ceremony after the video broke a few times. But she played Hedwig's theme and whatever else and it was beautiful and then they played a little more video.

Then I think Neil Ciciiiwqeidadaga was next, they brought up the little stage and it was obvious that these little performances were planned. They did a little skit that I guess wasn't really that memorable I mean honestly I'm not the biggest PPP fan. Whoops. They played a little more video that I laughed at.

I think next hank Green came out on stage, which was really unexpected because even though Hank owed like everything he had to the Harry Potter community and I knew he would be playing at the con, I never really connected Hank to the Harry Potter fandom. So anyway Hank went out and badassed Accio Deathly Hallows. Badassed is a verb, trust me. All of Catityde stood up to sing along. And we'll just pretend there weren't people behind us yelling at us to sit down. But it was really good and I didn't know Hank could seem so talented I guess. Then I think they played more video.

Then woah what, all of Starkid came out on stage and I guess that was kinda amazing. They sung Granger Danger which is one of my personal favorites I guess and sorta made the room explode. We all stood again, but the short girls behind us managed to convince everyone but me to sit so I kinda felt embarrassed being the only one standing. So I grudgingly sat down and enjoyed the show.

Then harry and the Potters came out and I don't think I wanted to sit at all after that. Katie had eventually moved down so I grabbed the hand of the person on each side of me, Destiny and Julian, as HATP played The Weapon and that was like where I knew I was probably where I should have been. With my friends at a Harry Potter Conference or Convention or whatever the hell you would call it.


Then we went over to the park for the private park event. I was sad to see some of my friends not go with us. And for some reason I temporarily developed a fear of rides for that night, so I feel like I really wasted a lot that night. Well, the whole way over we sung songs from AVPM and some people even joined in. I suck at lyrics so I kinda muttered it all but it was still a way cool sing a long thing.

We got in the park and I figured maybe I'd brave the rides, so I walked into the Dragon line and I got really nervous and turned around and found Paul and he said he had lost Katie. So we figured we'd just stay outside of the line and wait for everyone else to get off it and then John Green came walking by unsure of whether to ride it and I tried to convince him not to and Erica ended up sneaking him on. But Paul was too nervous to follow them so we didn't end up getting sneaked on too. Jeez Paul.

Then after that I think we checked out Honeydukes or something. I was really nervous and anxious so I sat on the ground and waited for Katie to come back. And then I started pacing and all of Starkid walked by me in like a single file line and it was sorta weird. Then I walked in the Three Broomsticks to check it out and I might have accidentally overheard the talks about how they were gonna sneak Evanna into the park without her getting mobbed.

Then Katie came back and the rest of the HPA that was with her. Andrew eventually found us or something and I asked if I could hug him and he said he had to poop. But I could hug him anyway. So I hugged him and then he left. So we sat at the table and waited for him and then I guess we made our way towards the lights and eventually Andrew introduced Katie to Evanna. I wasn't sure what was happening either and it didn't seem like Katie knew. But Katie just grabbed Evanna and hugged her and then there was the realization that she had just not only met Evanna Lynch, but she hugged her. So i texted 2 people that. Only 2 because I had already been criticized for mass texting...

Anyhow, Evanna was there to do some podcast. I don't know much about harry potter podcasts, don't judge me. But then the frog choir thing did their thing and i guess i liked it. Then some of us went to find food and I already forgot once who it was with me. Lindsay definitely I think and a third person I'm so sorry I forget who. And we sat down beside these kids. And they said they liked, was it katy's nerdfighterlike shirt. and she mentioned that ehr friend designed it and then they asked what her friend's name is and they said morgan and then they realized morgan is also their friend.

They mentioned how they had a youtube group and they thought they were Catitude's rivals but we talked them out of that I hope I think. then we got butterbeer or something and generally just hung out i guess. met some cool people from the internet, drank some pumpkin juice. you know?

We went back to the motel to find everybody from other places was back i think and I guess we stayed up for a bit just hanging out or something but then we slept.

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Leakycon 2011: Lit Day

So I forgot a few things from airplane day. I don't think I mentioned how weird and also amazing it was that there wasn't really a moment where I like felt like I was meeting anyone in any special case. It was mostly just like, "Woohoo! We can hug and touch hands now. But we're still the same people." Also we had camped out directly beside the Universal store at the airport so I got to check out a bunch of sweet merch before the con even started. Also, also, I brought 35 puddings in my suitcase and um, 10 of them sorta broke in my suitcase on the flight over. So I had chocolate pudding on my fancy shirt I brought for the Esther Earl Rocking Charity Ball. So, I rushed it to the bathroom and pretty much just soaked it and water and thankfully all of the pudding came out of it.


OK. So Litday was the next day. I had slept in a bit so I missed my chance to get a ride to the hotel a couple miles away. So I figured by the time we all managed to walk over there we's be late for the first programming of LitDay. But registration turned out to be so screwed up that they had to delay LitDay by like an hour and instead we were like 20 minutes early. I personally still wasn't sure whether John Green would be there so I was delightfully surprised to see him considering my whole LitDay schedule was based on the panels he'd be in...

So, the first panel was about how books were such an integral part of the panelists lives. John Green of course had to mention Catcher in the Rye. The panel itself wasn't really THAT memorable, I mostly just remember it was hilarious to hear the back and forths of all of the panelists. I had already known from some of the VlogBrothers videos that John and Maureen had a good humourous relationship. Same with a few livestreams I've seen of Libba Bray and Maureen.

Then there was the Vampires panel. A few people made fun of all the people who were going to htat. But it actually ended up being quite funny and also I guess informational. Of course it ended up being a question of whether to bash Twilight or not. John defended it as always. While also kind of giving his own John opinion of how he felt. Scott Westerfeld gave his own opinion, as an actual vampire novelist, and of course people disagreed with him. Once again it was pretty funny to hear just people banter back and forth to each other. I guess I like that kind of stuff.

In the hallway we ran into the Earl family and I was introduced to all of them and hugged and shook hands an etc. This took a while and I ended up walking into the author-editor-publisher panel late. I ended up half sitting on a chair with Blaze which was really unconfortable I guess. But I liked the panel. I would have been very disappointed in it though if I were actually going to learn how to start a relationship with a publisher or author or editor. It was mostly just people being friendly in groups of 3 while sorta kinda talking about how they developed working relationships between each other.

I went to lunch after that. Wasn't sure how much time I'd have so I ended up getting a few chicken nuggets from the burger king on citiwalk. I had no appetite for like the first 4 days so I ended up just really disappointing myself with how much food I wasted. Then we ran back for the next panel which was probably interesting. But on the way we ran into Andrew Slack who sorta walked in an sat in the floor. We realized we really shouldn't sit on the floor and ended up going to the back row. They mostly just talked about how teenagers have unrealistic expectations of love and sex and it's best when books give real depictions of this stuff. Like I used to always be confused when people got new love interests in sequels, but in the real world people actually do get new love interests regularly. Not always, but usually.

Then came my favorite LitDay panel. It was supposed to be discussing the authors writing when they were teenagers but it ended up just being them embarassing themselves reading things from when they were kids. I honestly don't remember what David Westerfeld had to say, but then David Levithan's was hilarious. He prefaced it by saying he wasn't aware that he was gay yet, but it definitely came through in the writing. I don't remember it well enough to quote but it was really funny I swear. Robin Wasserman's story was just about a kidnapping story where all of the chaarcters managed to eat enough even if they were being held hostage. It was funny. And then was Stephanie Perkins story. It was less of a story and more of her real journal entries from when she first met her now husband Jarrod from Gred and Forge on the internet. It was really cute and kind of personal but still incredibly cute, especially for all of us who had met online and developed friendships, because we could relate. John green read from his already popular story, "It just isn't Fair" which can be found here and here. Then libba told a story that i laughed at and i probably mixed up libba and robin's stories but i don't remember. sorry.

so then valerie, arka, ryan, and blaze had to rush out to find their ride to gainesville for the mountain goats show. so i took blaze's books and waited in the david levithan line to get everything i and she needed signed.he was really nice to talk to and me and lindsay ended up splitting blaze's books between us to be signed. It was sorta sad though because the lady next to david had absolutely nobody waiting in line to get books signed by her. But we sorta just chatted with Lori there until we left to go to the park for the first time until we had to rush back to get to the opening festivities. So we went to the park since our open at the close tickets allowed us to and we went to some shops and looked around but we had to hurry so we kinda ran to the forbidden journey, which honestly I don't get the name of that?? But me and maddie were worried about lindsay because of the lifelike spiders and everyone was worried about katie because she doesn't like rides at all.

but after we waited forever to get on the ride. it broke down and they let me and maddie and lindsay off the ride but they made katy and katie in the next car go and it sorta stressed katie out. but while they were riding it us three chatted with the dumb ride operator guy who kept calling us muggles. he was pretty much a jerk. I mean we were obviously wizards, I think he was the muggle. But anyway, we rode it and it was amazing and cool and made me dizzy. But since the ride had broken down we had to run back to the hotel for the opening ceremonies. we ended up taking one of those bike things. and i guess we made it in time and then we were there at the opening festivities and the room was packed and so many chairs were set up. I felt like the only people not there were the people who were on their way to see john darnielle.

Friday, July 22, 2011

Leakycon 2011: Airport Day

So, just last week I went to this thing called Leakycon. It's a Harry Potter convention in Orlando. They have Harry Potter conventions or conferences or whatever from time to time. And I guess the fandom has universally decided that Orlando is a good place for them because there's this Harry Potter Theme Park there now. Anyhow I first heard talk about it like a year and a half ago, maybe more. I had been away from the Harry Potter fandom for a long time so I wasn't sure of what the hell was going on. My friend Blaze who I was getting to know really well and all of her friends were planning on going. So I thought, "Why not? I don't care about money."

So all the while I was getting to know some of the people, not sure of who I met first. I think it was the people most close to Blaze because technically they were mutually most close to me. So there was Valerie and Esther and Ryan and Maddie at first I think who I talked to and also Avy. So yeah, I found out those people were awesome and then I met Destiny and Sierra and Katie and Geri and Arka and Morgan. I eventually got to know Paul and Julian and Katy and Sara and Arielle
and Manar and Teryn. And honestly I have no idea if that Is a proper order, I even attempted finding it out. The point is I gradually got to know all of “catitude” who I believed to be going to Leakycon and realized it’s probably gonna be a good idea to go. Over the past year people have convinced me more and more that It’s not a bad idea to go. Eventually they invited me to talk in their skype chat and I was invited to stay in their hotel. SO exposition is dumb and I’m done with this.

On July 11, 2011 we had a packing party and I sorta just stared at a screen while throwing t-shirts into a suitcase. It really wasn’t that complicated to pack and I don’t get why people seem to always complain about it. But then of course as the night went on I got more and more stressed and more and more tired. I kept looking for things that I forgot to put in my suitcase only to realize it was already in there. Eventually I felt confident enough and I fell right asleep at like 2am only to wake up again 4 hours later.

So I woke up and got dressed and got ready. I put on my Mountain Dew shirt because me and Maddie thought it would be hilarious if she showed up in a coca-cola shirt and if I wore a mountain dew shirt and if we glared at each other all day. Then I realized I was overprepared, but Buffy was on TV. This next bit is for people who have watched Buffy. It was the episode where Cordelia gets made fun of for dating a loser like Xander. And so Cordelia breaks up with Xander. And then Xander tries to have a spell done so Cordelia falls in love with him again. But instead the spell affects every woman in Sunnydale except for Cordelia. Buffy ends up being turned into a rat and lots of girls end up doing stupid things over fake obsession. I mean it’s a good show. You should watch it.

Then, my ride was at my house to pick me up. I was so nervous. I haven’t mentioned yet that I have never flown on a plane before and I’m sorta afraid of heights. So me and ride to the airport chat a bit but I kinda suck at small talk, like I’m worse at small talk than I am at coherently blogging. So then I get through security with a few mishaps, but it went considerably good. I bought a magazine with DanRad’s face on it, some tic-tacs and a coke to add to the hilarity of mine and maddie’s joke? I got on the plane and a kid probably 8 ended up talking to me and telling me he has flown plenty of times and it’s ok. I hate when 8 year olds are not scared of my irrational fears, it makes me feel really bad about myself. So he asked me why I was going to Orlando. I had OotP out so I said Harry Potter and then he told me about how cool the theme park was. I also had a conversation about Harry Potter with the people next to me. But then when they realized I am awful at talking I had time to read like 100 pages of my book.

So I landed and immediately tried to call my mom 5 times because she insisted I call her as soon as I land. She didn’t pick up once. Then I called Blaze who told me she’d meet me a place. But I did not see her at the place but eventually we found each other. And I saw her for the first time since January and destiny for the first time ever. And it was so great. But then I was also excited to meet ryan if he was there yet and Katy and especially Maddie. So I dropped my cell phone while they were leading me back to the spot we had picked to camp out. And so it took a bit of time to get to Maddie and Katy. Ryan was not there yet. And nobody had gotten me and Maddie’s joke yet.

I don’t remember the order of everything else so eventually I got to meet Ryan, Arielle, Julian, Arka, Paul, Katie, Lindsay, Geri, morgan, and Teryn at the airport for the first time that day. And I also got to meet Valerie for the 3rd time. We played a couple of really intense games of Uno at the airport. A few games of spoons that I thankfully I had brought spoons for. Eventually our area began to really really fill up and nervous levels got really high. I realized we didn’t really have a way to the motel and so I kinda stayed out of the way while people figured that out. Thanks to the generosity of Arielle and Katie’s friend’s mom we thankfully made it to the hotel. After we had got everything settled a few people decided to go to the store to get various things. I kinda wanted to tag along just for companionship but they sorta yelled at ryan for not really needing anything so I changed my mind about that.

Anyhow, on their way home they stopped at the con hotel and found out that registration might be open. So I woke up and eventually we got to the hotel and registration was open. They didn’t have a few of our registrations but they assured us that they would have them the following morning. But this was the night one of my favorite things happened. I saw Ryan walk up to Andrew Slack and talk to thim and then I went around the corner and found the rest of the people and told them that Andrew Slack was there and we all ran around the corner and group hugged. Joe Degeorge spotted the hug and had his first crowdsurf of Leakycon. We talked to him for a bit. We introduced ourselves even though he knew us already.

Then we figured out our plans for the following day. We made our way back to the hotel and talked a bit but finally managed to fall asleep.

OK. This was really long and probably hard to understand. And I don’t think I’m gonna proofread this one. But I guess I will split it into at least 6 different blogs? And if anyone has some advice on how to make this blog clearer, tell me it? You’re really amazing if you’ve managed to make it this far.



Haha. I just remembered Destiny also killed Maddie and turned her hair into pudding hair and also Shrek was cleaned. And I found a tide-to-go pen!

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

"Lent"

I'm starting "Lent" 13 days late, because I'm a heathen and I'm going to hell. I was raised Catholic and I believe in God and an afterlife determined by how morally a person acts while in this life or whatever. But a lot of Catholic rules seem like BS to me.

I understand the 8 days of lent catholics aren't allowed to eat meat are a sacrifice. But fish are allowed?? Why do we sacrifice only 8 days if it is such a huge sacrifice? And why do we give stuff up for only Lent? Shouldn't we act like our Lenten ideal of ourselves the whole year round?? So anyhow I'm starting my own phase of a thing comparative to Lent.

  • Basically I'm only gonna eat meat if my mom cooks it as the family meal. So no Fast food or restaurant meat or whatever. Probably gonna end up eating a lot of PB&J
  • I'm gonna read at least a chapter of a book a day because I don't read enough and I need to start reading more. (I don't mean like an average. I mean like each the day the least I will read will be 1 chapter.
  • Exercise is always important when people as out-of-shape as me wanna better themselves. So, I don't know really how to exercise, But I thought of a few general rules for that.
  1. If I am on campus, I can only use my car to drive home. No more driving across campus to save my legs or whatever.
  2. If I gotta use a bathroom on campus I have to walk to the farthest bathroom in that particular building.
  3. No elevators. (unless in the case of like me being with people who prefer the elevator)
  • And one that I am still developing in my head. Right now it is like have homework done at least 12 hours before it is due. But I could do it a lot faster than that. But I don't know.
  • And also begin actively looking for a job

But anyhow, I'm posting this now so I have some record of everything and I don't know how much I will update this blog or whatever.

Results So Far according to my phone.
Steps taken: 4535 today
Miles: 2.3

Chapters read: Didn't get to that yet

Homework: Well, the thing I'm looking at is due at 11 tomorrow and I'm not finishing it in a half hour, so that doesn't work retroactively i guess

Meat: and I ate taco bell today so that doesn't work retroactively either.

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Esther

Ok. Hi. I'm Zack. But you probably already know that.

Some other things you probably know are I am 19 years old. I major in IT and minor in Math at a dumb school in Eastern Ohio. I sleep in my house in Western Pennsylvania. Those two places are 27 minutes apart.

I've been a Harry Potter fan to varying large degrees since I was like 7. I am a Ravenclaw. I tend to dive into things that seem too much for me. Things like reading Infinite Jest in like 12 days last month.

I am a nerdfighter. To me, this means that, first of all, I embrace my nerdiness. Also, I am always trying to be a better person. I think those are basically the two basic attributes of Nerdfighters. Just picture a person telling you, "Nah, I think I couldn't possibly be a better person." Sounds like they're actually a terrible person, doesn't it?

I've been meaning to do a few different select blog posts for a while now.

Here's a story.

So there's a girl I met a little more than a year ago on the internet. Immediately, I thought how awesome the girl was. I mean she's funny, cute, nerdy and I don't really need to go on. Also she's friends with my totally cool awesome friend Blaze.

This awesome girl I met was named Esther. I liked things of hers on facebook. I laughed at her youtubes. I thought that this girl was pretty awesome. I had noticed that in her facebook pictures she seemed to be carrying around an oxygen tank. I didn't ever seem to think to ask anybody about that. I just figured she's a girl who sometimes gets short of breath. Maybe if we were closer she would have told me why without me asking, but our friendship was always strictly facebook comments and @replies.

A few months after i met her, I was talking to my cool and awesome friend Ryan. and we were discussing friends or something. He told me that Esther had cancer. I was surprised that I had never come close to this conclusion myself. I think for the most part I just pushed the thought of cancer out of my head. Or at least I never really considered what cancer often leads to.

Anyhow, so then I started to become better friends with a lot of friends of her and blaze. And it was great. I got to see through the internet what an amazing thing Make-a-Wish was. I still remember the livestream show they had when everybody first got to Boston. And I was excited that everybody would get to meet John Green. It was mostly overwhelming for me, so I'm not even gonna pretend I realize how great of a time everybody had in Boston.

Then July went on and I continued @replying everybody, including Esther. I laughed at her tweets, I might have indirectly told her I had a crush on her. Not quite sure about everything that happened in July/August. I do know that lots of people were doing VEDA and lots were doing BEDA. I attempted BEDA. Esther attempted VEDA. Through John Green's videos lots of people found her VEDA and thought they were great. I loved them because they were made by this girl I had come to realize was completely awesome. So I was failing BEDA. Esther was posting VEDAs a lot to good revies and getting lots of awesome company.

Then I turned 19. It was a pretty awful birthday. I was sick. I started my sophomore year of college. And nothing seemed to be working out for me on August 23rd. We were postponing my "party" to the next night. I ended up going to Olive Garden with my mom that night which wasn't particularly exciting. But I guess in retrospect was really nice.

Then I had my 2nd day. It seemed like my Tuesdays were going to be really stressful. So on my way home that day, I decided to stop and pig out on McDonalds. I found a nice looking church parking lot to park in and eat my lunch. This is one of those really big churches that is welcoming to all religions. So I ended up parking beside the prayer building. I have never been a big prayer person. I usually run on the assumption that God can read my mind and so prayers are sorta useless. but I had an urge to pray in that prayer center. I was lazy and tired though, so I went home.

Shortly after I got home, I found out that Esther was in the ICU and needed all of the prayers. So I drove downtown looking for a church to pray in. Unlike what you see in movies though, churches actually do close and lock their doors when mass isn't happening. So I just sat in my car and prayed like I'd never prayed before. I was worried but I remained hopeful. Her parents had used words implying there was still a chance.

So, I was talking to various friends of Esther's. Trying to calm down and in some cases trying to calm other people down. I realized the awesome great guy, Andrew Slack, was already calming most people down. So I thanked him for being such an awesome great guy. I had no reason to be worried because I thought for sure it was time for a miracle. Lori had even conveyed the message that she probably wasn't gonna make it. But I had enough hope to manage to get to sleep.

I found out she had passed away through a text from Destiny. I guess I just wanted things to be normal so I drove to school. It was a computer class spo i just kept refreshing twitter and every tweet made me cry. And college classes are not the best place for crying, so I just drove home and moped here. I got on Skype and wanted to do something to help anything to help. I offered to drive people to Boston. I was completely clueless.

My friends were sad and I couldn't relate because I wasn't as close to her as anybody. Most of those next few days are a complete haze, but people generally felt better. Since then, I've still been having regular dreams having to do with Esther and I still haven't really felt like anyone can identify with my feelings. She has a wonderful family. She has most of the same best friends as me. She likes the same television as me. How can a person just be gone?

Monday, January 10, 2011

Shirts

T-Shirts I've gotten in the past year

"Hangin' With My Peeps" shirt
Mountain Dew shirt
Harry and the Potters AC/DC parody shirt
Nerdfighteria teefury shirt
Pizza John
Whomping Willows eagle shirt
Post Potter Depression shirt
Reversible Spiderman/Green Goblin shirt
No less than 3 hoodies of various colors
Oh I forgot. A shirt with a smurf saying "This is My Lazy Shirt" and a shirt with a giant rolling stones shirt which were christmas presents
Umm and no less than 4 long sleeve shirts to wear underneath all of my new t-shirts