OK. So Litday was the next day. I had slept in a bit so I missed my chance to get a ride to the hotel a couple miles away. So I figured by the time we all managed to walk over there we's be late for the first programming of LitDay. But registration turned out to be so screwed up that they had to delay LitDay by like an hour and instead we were like 20 minutes early. I personally still wasn't sure whether John Green would be there so I was delightfully surprised to see him considering my whole LitDay schedule was based on the panels he'd be in...
So, the first panel was about how books were such an integral part of the panelists lives. John Green of course had to mention Catcher in the Rye. The panel itself wasn't really THAT memorable, I mostly just remember it was hilarious to hear the back and forths of all of the panelists. I had already known from some of the VlogBrothers videos that John and Maureen had a good humourous relationship. Same with a few livestreams I've seen of Libba Bray and Maureen.
Then there was the Vampires panel. A few people made fun of all the people who were going to htat. But it actually ended up being quite funny and also I guess informational. Of course it ended up being a question of whether to bash Twilight or not. John defended it as always. While also kind of giving his own John opinion of how he felt. Scott Westerfeld gave his own opinion, as an actual vampire novelist, and of course people disagreed with him. Once again it was pretty funny to hear just people banter back and forth to each other. I guess I like that kind of stuff.
Then there was the Vampires panel. A few people made fun of all the people who were going to htat. But it actually ended up being quite funny and also I guess informational. Of course it ended up being a question of whether to bash Twilight or not. John defended it as always. While also kind of giving his own John opinion of how he felt. Scott Westerfeld gave his own opinion, as an actual vampire novelist, and of course people disagreed with him. Once again it was pretty funny to hear just people banter back and forth to each other. I guess I like that kind of stuff.
In the hallway we ran into the Earl family and I was introduced to all of them and hugged and shook hands an etc. This took a while and I ended up walking into the author-editor-publisher panel late. I ended up half sitting on a chair with Blaze which was really unconfortable I guess. But I liked the panel. I would have been very disappointed in it though if I were actually going to learn how to start a relationship with a publisher or author or editor. It was mostly just people being friendly in groups of 3 while sorta kinda talking about how they developed working relationships between each other.
I went to lunch after that. Wasn't sure how much time I'd have so I ended up getting a few chicken nuggets from the burger king on citiwalk. I had no appetite for like the first 4 days so I ended up just really disappointing myself with how much food I wasted. Then we ran back for the next panel which was probably interesting. But on the way we ran into Andrew Slack who sorta walked in an sat in the floor. We realized we really shouldn't sit on the floor and ended up going to the back row. They mostly just talked about how teenagers have unrealistic expectations of love and sex and it's best when books give real depictions of this stuff. Like I used to always be confused when people got new love interests in sequels, but in the real world people actually do get new love interests regularly. Not always, but usually.
Then came my favorite LitDay panel. It was supposed to be discussing the authors writing when they were teenagers but it ended up just being them embarassing themselves reading things from when they were kids. I honestly don't remember what David Westerfeld had to say, but then David Levithan's was hilarious. He prefaced it by saying he wasn't aware that he was gay yet, but it definitely came through in the writing. I don't remember it well enough to quote but it was really funny I swear. Robin Wasserman's story was just about a kidnapping story where all of the chaarcters managed to eat enough even if they were being held hostage. It was funny. And then was Stephanie Perkins story. It was less of a story and more of her real journal entries from when she first met her now husband Jarrod from Gred and Forge on the internet. It was really cute and kind of personal but still incredibly cute, especially for all of us who had met online and developed friendships, because we could relate. John green read from his already popular story, "It just isn't Fair" which can be found here and here. Then libba told a story that i laughed at and i probably mixed up libba and robin's stories but i don't remember. sorry.
so then valerie, arka, ryan, and blaze had to rush out to find their ride to gainesville for the mountain goats show. so i took blaze's books and waited in the david levithan line to get everything i and she needed signed.he was really nice to talk to and me and lindsay ended up splitting blaze's books between us to be signed. It was sorta sad though because the lady next to david had absolutely nobody waiting in line to get books signed by her. But we sorta just chatted with Lori there until we left to go to the park for the first time until we had to rush back to get to the opening festivities. So we went to the park since our open at the close tickets allowed us to and we went to some shops and looked around but we had to hurry so we kinda ran to the forbidden journey, which honestly I don't get the name of that?? But me and maddie were worried about lindsay because of the lifelike spiders and everyone was worried about katie because she doesn't like rides at all.
but after we waited forever to get on the ride. it broke down and they let me and maddie and lindsay off the ride but they made katy and katie in the next car go and it sorta stressed katie out. but while they were riding it us three chatted with the dumb ride operator guy who kept calling us muggles. he was pretty much a jerk. I mean we were obviously wizards, I think he was the muggle. But anyway, we rode it and it was amazing and cool and made me dizzy. But since the ride had broken down we had to run back to the hotel for the opening ceremonies. we ended up taking one of those bike things. and i guess we made it in time and then we were there at the opening festivities and the room was packed and so many chairs were set up. I felt like the only people not there were the people who were on their way to see john darnielle.
but after we waited forever to get on the ride. it broke down and they let me and maddie and lindsay off the ride but they made katy and katie in the next car go and it sorta stressed katie out. but while they were riding it us three chatted with the dumb ride operator guy who kept calling us muggles. he was pretty much a jerk. I mean we were obviously wizards, I think he was the muggle. But anyway, we rode it and it was amazing and cool and made me dizzy. But since the ride had broken down we had to run back to the hotel for the opening ceremonies. we ended up taking one of those bike things. and i guess we made it in time and then we were there at the opening festivities and the room was packed and so many chairs were set up. I felt like the only people not there were the people who were on their way to see john darnielle.
No comments:
Post a Comment