Friday, July 22, 2011

Leakycon 2011: Airport Day

So, just last week I went to this thing called Leakycon. It's a Harry Potter convention in Orlando. They have Harry Potter conventions or conferences or whatever from time to time. And I guess the fandom has universally decided that Orlando is a good place for them because there's this Harry Potter Theme Park there now. Anyhow I first heard talk about it like a year and a half ago, maybe more. I had been away from the Harry Potter fandom for a long time so I wasn't sure of what the hell was going on. My friend Blaze who I was getting to know really well and all of her friends were planning on going. So I thought, "Why not? I don't care about money."

So all the while I was getting to know some of the people, not sure of who I met first. I think it was the people most close to Blaze because technically they were mutually most close to me. So there was Valerie and Esther and Ryan and Maddie at first I think who I talked to and also Avy. So yeah, I found out those people were awesome and then I met Destiny and Sierra and Katie and Geri and Arka and Morgan. I eventually got to know Paul and Julian and Katy and Sara and Arielle
and Manar and Teryn. And honestly I have no idea if that Is a proper order, I even attempted finding it out. The point is I gradually got to know all of “catitude” who I believed to be going to Leakycon and realized it’s probably gonna be a good idea to go. Over the past year people have convinced me more and more that It’s not a bad idea to go. Eventually they invited me to talk in their skype chat and I was invited to stay in their hotel. SO exposition is dumb and I’m done with this.

On July 11, 2011 we had a packing party and I sorta just stared at a screen while throwing t-shirts into a suitcase. It really wasn’t that complicated to pack and I don’t get why people seem to always complain about it. But then of course as the night went on I got more and more stressed and more and more tired. I kept looking for things that I forgot to put in my suitcase only to realize it was already in there. Eventually I felt confident enough and I fell right asleep at like 2am only to wake up again 4 hours later.

So I woke up and got dressed and got ready. I put on my Mountain Dew shirt because me and Maddie thought it would be hilarious if she showed up in a coca-cola shirt and if I wore a mountain dew shirt and if we glared at each other all day. Then I realized I was overprepared, but Buffy was on TV. This next bit is for people who have watched Buffy. It was the episode where Cordelia gets made fun of for dating a loser like Xander. And so Cordelia breaks up with Xander. And then Xander tries to have a spell done so Cordelia falls in love with him again. But instead the spell affects every woman in Sunnydale except for Cordelia. Buffy ends up being turned into a rat and lots of girls end up doing stupid things over fake obsession. I mean it’s a good show. You should watch it.

Then, my ride was at my house to pick me up. I was so nervous. I haven’t mentioned yet that I have never flown on a plane before and I’m sorta afraid of heights. So me and ride to the airport chat a bit but I kinda suck at small talk, like I’m worse at small talk than I am at coherently blogging. So then I get through security with a few mishaps, but it went considerably good. I bought a magazine with DanRad’s face on it, some tic-tacs and a coke to add to the hilarity of mine and maddie’s joke? I got on the plane and a kid probably 8 ended up talking to me and telling me he has flown plenty of times and it’s ok. I hate when 8 year olds are not scared of my irrational fears, it makes me feel really bad about myself. So he asked me why I was going to Orlando. I had OotP out so I said Harry Potter and then he told me about how cool the theme park was. I also had a conversation about Harry Potter with the people next to me. But then when they realized I am awful at talking I had time to read like 100 pages of my book.

So I landed and immediately tried to call my mom 5 times because she insisted I call her as soon as I land. She didn’t pick up once. Then I called Blaze who told me she’d meet me a place. But I did not see her at the place but eventually we found each other. And I saw her for the first time since January and destiny for the first time ever. And it was so great. But then I was also excited to meet ryan if he was there yet and Katy and especially Maddie. So I dropped my cell phone while they were leading me back to the spot we had picked to camp out. And so it took a bit of time to get to Maddie and Katy. Ryan was not there yet. And nobody had gotten me and Maddie’s joke yet.

I don’t remember the order of everything else so eventually I got to meet Ryan, Arielle, Julian, Arka, Paul, Katie, Lindsay, Geri, morgan, and Teryn at the airport for the first time that day. And I also got to meet Valerie for the 3rd time. We played a couple of really intense games of Uno at the airport. A few games of spoons that I thankfully I had brought spoons for. Eventually our area began to really really fill up and nervous levels got really high. I realized we didn’t really have a way to the motel and so I kinda stayed out of the way while people figured that out. Thanks to the generosity of Arielle and Katie’s friend’s mom we thankfully made it to the hotel. After we had got everything settled a few people decided to go to the store to get various things. I kinda wanted to tag along just for companionship but they sorta yelled at ryan for not really needing anything so I changed my mind about that.

Anyhow, on their way home they stopped at the con hotel and found out that registration might be open. So I woke up and eventually we got to the hotel and registration was open. They didn’t have a few of our registrations but they assured us that they would have them the following morning. But this was the night one of my favorite things happened. I saw Ryan walk up to Andrew Slack and talk to thim and then I went around the corner and found the rest of the people and told them that Andrew Slack was there and we all ran around the corner and group hugged. Joe Degeorge spotted the hug and had his first crowdsurf of Leakycon. We talked to him for a bit. We introduced ourselves even though he knew us already.

Then we figured out our plans for the following day. We made our way back to the hotel and talked a bit but finally managed to fall asleep.

OK. This was really long and probably hard to understand. And I don’t think I’m gonna proofread this one. But I guess I will split it into at least 6 different blogs? And if anyone has some advice on how to make this blog clearer, tell me it? You’re really amazing if you’ve managed to make it this far.



Haha. I just remembered Destiny also killed Maddie and turned her hair into pudding hair and also Shrek was cleaned. And I found a tide-to-go pen!

No comments:

Post a Comment