Thursday, December 22, 2011

That's a lot of balls

SO this past weekend. I went on a thing that I don't know if I could really refer to it as anything except for an adventure. I will begin with 12am on Sunday. Because I might make a blog post about sad things that happened. But that is generally when sad bad things stopped happening to me.

So i was on my way to Boston for the 7th Annual Cambridge Yule Ball. After a bad 23 and a half hours of travel. So I managed to sleep on the bus a bit. BUt I was mostly nervous about getting a Taxi to Avy when I got in. Avy's my awesome friend who had an extra bed for me. Which was totally great. So I got in

I ddon't know why I worried because the taxi was really easy. He just took me there and I spoke to AVy and hugged her and it was great meeting Avy. Because she was like on my top 5 list of people I needed to meet and hug for the first time. But yeah. I just went to sleep after the greeting.

And so I woke up and I was surprisingly not confused. But anyhow I showered but we still needed to get fresh clothes for me. Let's just say I was lacking in any spare clothes through no fault of my own.

So we walked and stopped at this place called Newbury Comics which is I guess famous for comics. And I looked around. Socks and a shirt were my priority. So I looked at the socks and they were all $10 a pair. SO I found a really nice green pair. I love green a lot. Then I got a nice Arrested Development shirt about a banana stand.

And I changed and etc. Then Avy guided me through the mystery that is the Boston underground. The T. And some of it was awkward standing and afraid of falling. And I almost did fall.

Then we went aboveground and we were sitting. And a lady told me about how my hair is beautiful and people would literally pay for my hair. And then a baby got on and looked at me for an extended period of time and the lady said that the baby was now my fan. Man this was way more fun than I can convey in words.

So it was really cold and we were walking past a Panera Bread. So we decided to stop there and get something. And since we were stopped anyway. And Samantha was gonna pass us anyway. We called her and asked her if she would pick us up from Panera Bread and drive us the rest of the way to the Earls. And she did because she is great. So anyhow Samantha picked us up and I hugged her. By the way, another hug done on my hug bucket list.

And we drove for a bit. And we ended up at the Earls and it was nice. So we greeted Lori and the Earls. They are supernice. Did you know? She made us sandwiches. And they were delicious. Like seriously usually I hate cheese on sandwichs but I decided to risk it and ask for I think it was provolone on my turkey sandwich and it was delicious. The best sandwich.

So we sat down and i ate it and me sam and avy did cute things and talked about cute things. Then Lori let us have some of the spare chocolate from an advent calendar. Also sometime my mom called and asked me to sing happy birthday to my sister because they were having cake for her. SO i asked everyone in the hosue to sing it with me and we did and it was nice.

Lori went to get a thing. And in that time we played a game and fell on the floor and I broke my whistle. But we were in Boston so whatever. Then we drove to avy's door, for people with changes of clothes to change. Me, Avy, and Samantha I mean.

So we went there and then we took a bus to the middle east for the show and we ate dinner first. I ordered yogurt and my perception of yogurt has forever changed. I always thought that yogurt was like the fruity thing you buy in cups. But this stuff was bitter s I put oranges in it. And it was slightly better and also lots of sugar.

Also sometime there Arka and Kim met up with us. They are okay I guess. And we were all Ravenclaws except for Avy. But we ate and talked about dumb things. As we do. And we ended up being late to the show. And I missed half of Matt's set but the 2nd half was great. We walked in during house of awesome. And we found a nice spot in one back corner, but somehow we made it t the complete opposite corner in the front suring the show.

Matt was great with a backing band as usual. He played Draco and Harry. and the 3 of us started flappong out wings one minute into the intro. I later joked that our freedom wind carried all the way to North Korea and did Kim Jong Il in.

Then I think Jason Anderson was next. His songs were really lovely. But I definitely prefer him live with a crowd of only like 12 people. And with him staring into eyes while we do a sing along and with everyone there in arm's reach.

Then after him Andrew Slack did an inspirational speech. I don't know if you, the reader of this blgo post, have ever heard Andrew Slack give an inspirational speech.

Wait backtrack. When we walked into the basement of the middle east late. Andrew Slack was right behind us. And I hugged him. For some reason he had a ring of onion on his wrist???? But he is great so we just went with it.

But so he gave his speech. He had lost his onion ring. But needless to say, his speech was great and wonderful. He pointed out how Draco and the Malfoys were done but harry Potter keeps on going.

And then I think Paul introduced Draco and the Malfoys for their last set ever. And he was like they have played at all 7 Yule Balls and I joked loudly, "That's a lot of Balls." And so they played their typical music. pansy and my dad is rrich. and mostly their talking in between was really cute. Like people would say "We love you" and they would say "We love us too"but eventually Brad said i love you guys. And once again it was mentioned that it was their seventh Yule Ball and so Brian said a funny joke, "That's a lot of balls." And I was like, "Man this guy is hilarious!"

Did I mention that during all of the set breaks they played various versions of Last Christmas as the music. I forget what it's called. So during a break me avy and sam started requesting last christmas. they never did play that. they finished with 99 death eaters and then seemed to be done, but we called them back and they played the end of that again.

So then Harry and the Potters were starting. And that was most definitely the best Harry and the Potters livehow I had ever seen. But to be fair I think after every HATP show, I think it was the best live show I had ever seen. They played all of my favorites and then they covered a christmas song. So we started requesting last christmas from them. But then they just played a song from the 2nd of those christmas compilations that i own one of but can't remember the name of.

Anyhow after that we requested last christmas loudly again. So Joe started telling a story with the words "Last Christmas" and it was probably honestly more than 10 minutes? if not 15? He went from last christmas to talking about being alone in his hogwarts dorm room. but then hedwig showed up with a mysterious vial. and he wasn't sure whetehr to drink. but he did drink it and it made everything all christmas magical and we thought he was gonna segue into Felix Felicis right after that.

But he kept going. Everntually he said Accio Hagrid or was it Hedwig and Hedwig talked to him or something and it was the best response to a last christmas response that possibly could have happened. He just kept going. But eventually they segued into the part of baba o'riley where they sing "Teenage Wasteland" but instead it was "Merry Christmas" buh buh "Merry Christmasss"

Then they played more songs. They had a backing like brass band come on. The "What Cheer?" band which I think Jason Anderson might be in. And so they played a song about harry potter. Then they played save ginny weasley from dean thomas. with all the brass. and that is already one of my favorite songs, but this was even more magical.

So the brass band eventually went off and they started playing the weapon. So I turned around and grabbed arka and grabbed Avy and Sam and Kim into a group hug and we kinda stayed in that and danced for the entirety of the song. It was beautiful and I loved it SO MUCH!

THen they played some harder songs to finish their set. I turned around and i think paul had gone into the crowd during that song. but i was deep in a hug and did not notice. So they played harry potter. And then I honestly forget what absolutely everyone came bac on the stage for. But then wecheered for one last song.

And so Draco and the Malfoys ended up playing the 3rd song on the Family Ep which was really sad. Then they finished that and i think they rocked out 99 death eaters a bit the they played the merry christmas baba o'riley thing again ad we cheered and cheered until they walked off.

So I went to run to get my wallet to but their flash drive. And on the way there Brian was just walking away alone so i tapped him on the shoulder and he turned around and i hugged him. And it was at leats the 2nd best hug i had that night.

Then I got my wallet and bought Matt's Wizard Party Forever shirt. And I hugged Matt and Lauren because they are my favorite married couple to hug both of. Then I walked away and bought the flash drive.

And I saw this kid named Patrick I think. And he was wearing a pizza john with a suit jacket on top with pajama pants. And if you read my other blog, you know that is similar to my outfit from the week befoe at the pittsburgh yule ball. So someone mentioned taht we gonna try to get Andrew to go back with us and sing last christmas on youtube. even though he was quite drunk. Yeah so we had no diea where he was so we kinda just left. And Arka had a final at 9am so he also had to leave and not go with us.

But me made it back to Avy's. And we bought stuff at a grocery store around the corner. me and sam got ice cream, but avy was waiting to buy popcorn chicken at the place next to her hostel. Well so we went there and me and sam decided to split a popcorn chicken. Then we waited there a bunch for our chicken and we walked up to the room and we were talking and enjoying each other's presence. And so we added Sam to our skype chat and it seemed like everyone was okay with that and then it became midnight. End of blog!!

Saturday, December 10, 2011

December 9th, 2011

My day. So I woke up at 11:47 am with my alarm. Promptly silenced that evil contraption. I was then woken up at 12:34 pm by my dad. And shouted OH SHIT WHAT TIME IS IT? which is a thing I do to give off the idea that I am accidentally waking up 26 minutes before my class 28 minutes away. And I like to shower so that adds another half hour for me.

So I went back to sleep without bothering to check whether the call with the people who are cool was still going. So I went to sleep and woke again at 4:34 pm

And I thought that was just awful because I needed to be in Pittsburgh by 7 pm and my sources told me my destination was an hour and 15 minutes away which only left me with like an hour to get ready. I totally owned that hour thank you very much. Checked the twitter. Checked the tumblr. Checked the facebook. Showered. Saw that Maddie was still in the call. Wondered how long it could go if I just left the call going when I left. Ate a slice of pizza. Found a suit jacket. Got dressed a few steps back. Worried that I forgot something. Watch a cute baby walk across my kitchen said bye to the baby.

Then I left. I stopped at the gas station and got $40 from the bank. I bought a mountain dew code red. Even though I think I might be falling out of love with any mountain dew to be simply honest. Then I drove drove and drove.

I thought I was lost a few times. But the route to Pittsburgh is still like 95% the same as it has been every other time I drove to Pittsburgh alone and so I every other time I also thought I might be lost.

I got there and noted that there was parking in front. But it was mostly full besides a spot to parallel park. So I parked behind the library. The library conveniently had a backdoor But very unconveniently the door had a sign that said "Please use the front door" so I had to walk all the way around the building to walk inside.

And a security guard I guess he was said hi and then a lady said the event is upstairs. So I walked upstairs feeling very nervous. Just realized I haven't said where I've been going. Woooo accidental suspense. So I open the door and Poof! There's Matt and Lauren. I say hi and walk in. And say dumb words to them because I am nervous.

Then girls of ages similar to mine walk in and I talk to them and say dumb words at them. AND THEY HAD LITTLE REESES CUPS ON THE BACK TABLE.

So then the show started and Lauren was really wrockin. But for some reason only me and the 11 year old Noah were standing anywhere near her. So I dragged people forward and they stayed forward but then they kept backing up. Then I put on my Luna glasses I got as a great gift and started dancing around with those.

I like to dance because it is music and why not?

So after i got people to move up. Matt applauded me which was nice. Then I danced some more I guess.

Then her set ended. She played specific songs that are my favorite songs. But I am skimming over a lot of details. Have you noticed. By you I mean the arbitrary person who has for some reason read like so many words of this crap so far. CRAP CRAP CRAP.

Anyhow. Lauren finsihed and then Matt started wrocking the house. Or more like th library. He also played songs I love but I am trying to not think whle I type and I'd have to think to remember which songs exactly he played. Except he started off with Fall In Love Tonight. Which I always feel so awkward but I did this time especially because I was the only guy at that show so far. Well I usually am for the entire time I guess.

So I danced anyhow because dancing! Or if you could even call what I was doing dancing. He played some other songs or maybe just one but then he introduced I Believe in Nargles and said he was dedicating it to "My Curly Haired Friend" Because I had previously worn the spectrespecs. And so I knew I had to make it completely worth it.

So he played it and I knew Laurenhad seen people do it enough that she knew the wrackspurt dance So I got her to join me in doing it. And then all of the girls who hadn't been dancing a lot before were suddenly dancing that.

And I guess that was like what got everyone excited. People were super into on behalf of neville. and then super into everything else he played.

So it was over and i had fun hanging out Had good chats with the maggiacomos. Had good times with other people. Convinced people to go with me to obtain food. They got into my car to go get food. I am awful at names but one of them was Runa who I know the name of from repeated encounters of thinking she is cool on the internet.

And went to a place called Lulu's soups. It was like all times of Asian foods I guess. Mostly soups as the name might suggest but allso other things you'd find standard at Chinese or Japanese restaurants. So we ate the food and then we left. And it was cold cold cold. And everyone walked back to my maybe illegally parked car with me. Because runa's phone was probably there and then i was convinced to drive them to the cathedral of learning.

because sure i will drive anyone to hogwarts. and then they left and I was driving home.

So 15 minutes into my hour long car-ride home I realized I REALLY had to pee. Which would have been great. But there were no exits for miles. I went a little bit farther than contemplating peeing in a bottle.

So I decided that the next exit i was taking and i was turning at the first place. And so I found an exit and the first place was a holiday inn. And so I am glad I didn't try to pee in a bottle because that would have filled a whole bottle and that would have been so disastrous that i might have to write a book about the experience.

there were men shouting and listening to country music in the hotel abr so i went to investigate. and i saw the pool and i love the smell of a good pool. MAN

So then I came home and discovered the call had ended. And I shared my experiences and uploaded pictures to facebook and then I watched john play in the fa cup which was terrifying in so many ways.

then i watched played my own games of that game. Then I got bored and did other boring things and now I am here typing this. Woohoo


Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Feelings

So Feelings. I have them. They exist. My feelings. They are mine. And I like to keep a lot of them that way. Only letting them out in small secrets from friend to friend. Tell one person I really like a girl. Tell another person I am sure I like girls, which i said like 11 months ago, but I am still not sure if my liking of genders ends at only that.

Obviously flirt with guys and girls I've never really thought about liking romantically. But barely able to even flirt a little with the people who I like and stuff. Which is probably a thing tons of people do. But it is a dumb thing to do and I don't wanna do it. But it's just so scary because before you get in there and before they know for sure that you like them at all there is always that huge chance of rejection at even the little flirting.

And like I just feel like not many people know much about me.

Like I don't think very many people know about my home life? How many siblings I have. Which of them still live in my house. Whether I have a good relationship with them.

And other trivial things like my favorite color or favorite number or favorite place to eat.

And there is other stuff that I will come bck to when I figure out how to get it into words and i feel like I have managed to not reveal a deep persoanl secret in this yet so I will just post it.